Nidahas Trophy Final: India vs Bangladesh: India Beat Bangladesh

Nidahas Trophy

Nidahas trophy:India Beat Bangladesh by four wickets

Colombo/New Delhi:MNN: Nidahas Trophy Dinesh Karthik kept his calm under pressure as India pull off an incredible chase beating Bangladesh by four wickets .

Dinesh Karthik right-hander smashed three sixes and two boundaries in his 29-run knock that came off 8 balls.

Karthik displayed nerves of steel and launched Soumya Sarkar towards extra cover for a six to seal India’s win.

After being put in to bat, Bangladesh scored a competitive 166 for eight, riding on Sabbir Rahman’s 50-ball 77.

Also read:UP By election 2018: Akhilesh yadav thank mayawati

Captain Rohit Sharma’s (56 off 42 balls) dismissal set India’s inexperienced middle-order in panic mode.

India allrounder Vijay Shankar’s four dot balls off the 18th over by Mustafizur Rahaman made difficult for India.

Karthik came at the start of the19th over and clobbered Rubel Hossain for 22 runs including two sixes and two fours to bring down the equation to 12 off.

Rohit started with a lofted boundary over long-on off his opposite number Shakib

Young off-spinner Mehidy Hasan Miraz then got a taste of what world class batsmanship is as he was hit for two huge sixes.

Shikhar Dhawan and Suresh Raina were out in quick succession

Indian captain was in his element as Bangladesh’s using spinners in the Powerplay didn’t prove to be as effective as India.

KL Rahul once again looked in fine touch during a 51-run stand with his skipper

KL Rahul failed to make it count as his mistimed pull off a Rubel Hossain delivery landed into safe hands of Sabbir.

Indian pacers undid the hard work of their spinners as Bangladesh scored a competitive 166 for eight.

Off-spinner Washington Sundar and leg-spinner Yuzvendra Chahal were brilliant in the Powerplay.

Vijay Shankar and Shardul Thakur leaked 93 runs between them on a good batting surface.

While the Washington-Chahal duo bowled 20 dot balls between them with only one boundary.

Jaydev Unadkat (2/33) did come back well in his final over but Sabbir cleverly waited for the spinners to finish their quota.

Skipper Rohit taking a gamble by introducing both spinners inside the Powerplay, part-timer like Suresh Raina came as a surprise.

last six overs of the Bangladesh innings yielded 66 runs  mostly coming from Sabbir’s blade.

The 17th over was the one when Shankar fluffed his lines with the back of the hand slower deliveries as Sabbir hit him for a six over deep mid.

Bangladesh openers Tamim Iqbal and Litton Das started off in a whirlwind fashion.

But Washington forced the latter to play a slog sweep and the ball ballooned for Raina to complete a lovely catch.

The dangerous Tamim was more of a fielder’s wicket as Chahal flighted one altering the length.

Chahal got his second wicket when an out-of-form Soumya Sarkar tried to slog sweep a fuller delivery from Chahal.

The wiry-framed leg-spinner got his third wicket when an in-form Mushfiqur Rahim tried to hit inside out.

In Mahmudullah Riyadh (21),

he found a steady ally and added 36 runs before a miscommunication saw the vice-captain getting run-out by Vijay Shankar.

Shankar then had a hand in getting rival captain Shakib Al Hasan run-out with a direct throw from the cover region.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here